Tebow Knows

T. Tebow scores the game-winning touchdown against New York (US Presswire).

It’s somewhat cliché but I think it’s very sports appropriate that I make my first post about Tim Tebow. 

You might think it is very give up of me to write about Timmy in my first post since you could turn on ESPN (Sports Walmart) and  be within about 5 minutes of hearing Tebow talk any time of the day. However I have some very hot sports opinions on the man.  Coming from my sports friends and people that I follow on Twitter, the percentage of love/hate is about 50/50. To be honest, I don’t know how someone can hate this guy. Sure he only has a career completion percentage of 47%, only has 12 touchdown passes in 14 games this season and sort of has a reputation to be off for the first three quarters. But he plays the game the right way. The way he leads his team and handles himself on and off the field makes him one of the most likable players in the league. 

I am not ashamed to admit that I share the same faith as Tebow.  Being raised a Christian and then going off to college can be tough to keep a strong faith, but Tebow makes it cool to be a Christian again.  A lot of people are anti-Tebow because of how much he talks about his beliefs. I think it is awesome that he shares this with his fans and the media, it takes a lot of courage to do this and Tebow pulls it off. Tim doesn’t use any “Fire and Brimstone” techniques to try to convert his fans to believers, he just simply gives praise to his God and shares what he believes in. I can promise you I’m not going to talk about my beliefs often on here so don’t get scared away if that offends you, I just think it’s cool that there are successful people in this world that share my same beliefs and aren’t afraid of criticism.

I personally think that Tim Tebow is the best thing going for the NFL’s image right now. At this day and age of the NFL when the headline makers are Sam Hurd for trying to be Chicago’s Gus Fring, Plaxico Burress for being an idiot, and the Vince Young’s and Pacman’s of the league that like to get in trouble at strip clubs, it’s hard for a young boy to find a player they can look up to. Tim Tebow fits the mold of a perfect role model. Will Tebow continue his success as a winner and grow to be a great NFL quarterback? Maybe, maybe not, only time will tell. However, I can tell you I’ll be rooting for him this Saturday at New England, and hopefully there will be more players like him in the future that will give the NFL a good name.

 

How can someone not like this guy?

Leave a comment